Breaking New Ground

“Every time I work out, I pretend I am on the last episode of Biggest Loser.”
-Anna Allison

This is what I thought about at the gym today, &it makes me laugh every time.

February has been a crazy month.
It has been a mixed bag of ups &downs- hurting knees, doctor’s visits, lots of bedtime, &lots of Dexter.
My last logged run was 2.22 miles on January 29th.
I had been going to the gym &stationary biking to build up strength in my legs &glutes,
but since last week due to having a horrid case of tonsillitis I haven’t done anything.
&I definitely felt that this morning.
This past weekend I finally went &bought some new running shoes.
After extensive research, I found out that the shoes I had been running in-
aren’t actually made for running.
They are cross training shoes.
So you know I went &cop’d some new LunarEclipse running shoes.

If you know anything about me, you know I am super sentimental.
I wanted the first time I ran in these shoes to be special.

But like the Rolling Stones say- you can’t always get what you want.
Since I’ve had to come to work earlier this week &had a TON of work to do, today was the first day I could really work out.
When I woke up this morning, I woke up to nasty weather: misty, foggy, post-rainy, chilly ish.
Not ideal, but I will roll with it.
As I started to run, I got tired really quickly- which is not the norm.
So I decided to do some walking-running intervals.
Which kind of takes the fun out of letting loose &just running.
Oh &my knee started to hurt a little again.

I have a lot of work to do, &I need to get back on track.
Even though I feel like I have to start all the way over again.
Breaking in new shoes &breaking new running ground.
It won’t be easy, but since living in Korea, nothing ever is.

Leave a comment